FREE Investigators

Investigators are researchers who are responsible for the design, conduct and reporting of the study.  The Chief Investigator is the lead investigator who takes overall responsibility for the study. 


  • Professor Kathy Rowan, CTU Director, ICNARC (Chief Investigator) 
  • Dr Stephen Wright, Consultant in Anaesthesia & ICU, Freeman Hospital, Newcastle (Lead Clinical Investigator)
  • Dr David Harrison, Senior Statistician, ICNARC
  • Dr Sheila Harvey, CTU Manager/Senior Research Fellow, ICNARC
  • Professor Daren Heyland, Scientific Director, Kingston General Hospital, Canada
  • Dr Lisa Hinton, Senior Qualitative Researcher, University of Oxford (Patient and family member representative)
  • Professor Elaine McColl, Director, Newcastle CTU
  • Annette Richardson, Nurse Consultant in Critical Care, Freeman Hospital, Newcastle
  • Michael Richardson (Family member representative)


Copyright © 2022 ICNARC